
 
Examples for documenting a loss under the Arkansas Catfish Feed Disaster Grant Program 
 
Along with their application, producers must provide documentation of the losses they are claiming.  
They may claim losses for only one calendar year.  The following are examples of the type of 
documentation expected based on separate natural disaster designations made in different years.  
These examples do not cover all natural disaster designations made for counties in Arkansas from 
January 2, 2005 to February 27, 2007.  For a complete list go to http://disaster.fsa.usda.gov. 
 
Example #1: 
In 2005 many catfish producers were unable to feed for a considerable amount of time due to very 
high water temperatures. These lost feeding days resulted in lost production both in pounds of fish 
for sale in 2005 and size of under-stock fish being prepared for carry through the winter. 
 
Also in 2005, a Natural Disaster Designation (Number S2142), spanning the dates from May 1, 
2005 to April 30, 2006 was issued due to excessive heat and drought.  A producer who’s lost 
feeding days occurred during this time span are eligible to apply for disaster assistance if they meet 
all the other criteria required by the program. 
 
In addition to the other documents required with the application, the producer must submit a signed 
sworn statement attesting to: 1. The number of surface acres of eligible ponds.  2. The number of 
lost feeding days due to excessively high water temperature in the ponds. 3. The pounds of feed fed 
per day per acre in eligible ponds.  4.  The price received for fish sold from the eligible ponds.  
 
Using the above data and a generally accepted feed conversion rate of 50%, the producer should 
make the following calculation of the value of eligible losses: 
 
acres X lost feeding days X pounds of feed/acre/day X .5lb fish/lb feed X price = loss 
 
The producer will be eligible for the lesser of this calculated loss or $24 multiplied by the number 
of tons of feed fed in 2005. 
 
Example #2: 
An extensive drought in 2006 resulted in a spike in the cost of catfish feed.  This increase has been 
calculated at $22 per ton.  Many, but not all, of the catfish producing counties in Arkansas received 
a natural disaster designation due to drought.  One such designation, Number S2426, ran from 
January 1, 2006 to December 31, 2006.  A producer who purchased and fed catfish feed during this 
period is eligible to apply for disaster assistance if they meet all the other criteria required by the 
program.  (Producer must be producing in a county covered by the designation.) 
 
Although the FSA maximum payment rate for losses incurred in 2006 is $26/ton, the amount of 
disaster assistance available to a producer under this example would be $22/ton.  Note: the feed 
tonnage used to calculate the eligible disaster assistance is only that feed, which was purchased in 
2006 at the 2006 increased price and fed in 2006.  Feed “booked” in 2005 at the 2005 price and fed 
in 2006 is not eligible.  Feed “booked” in 2006 and fed in 2007, is not eligible.  This distinction 
should be clear on the signed statement from the feed provider. 
 
 


